#ASC14 highlights

Thanks to Claire Harris for sharing her highlights.

  • Over 100 distinguished speakers across disciplines and industries
  • Leaders and visionaries of our time such as:
    • Ian Lowe (Emeritus Professor of Science, Technology and Society at Griffith University and President of the Australian Conservation Foundation)
    • Susannah Eliott (CEO of the Australian Science Media Centre)
    • Drew Berry (Biomedical Animator at Walter Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research), Lloyd Godson (Ultramarathon running aquanaut and adventurer)
    • Dr Geoff Garrett (Queensland Chief Scientist)
    • Prof Léonie Rennie (Emeritus Professor at Science and Mathematics Education Centre, Curtin University)
    • Warwick Anderson (CEO of NHMRC, Australia’s major governmental funding body for health and medical research)
    • Bernie Hobbs (Award-winning science writer and broadcaster with ABC Science Online).
  • Over 200 attendees from all career stages from students to leaders in their fields
  • Attendees from Australia, New Zealand, Africa, USA and Japan
  • Three days of main conference program featuring case studies, talks, roundtable discussions, workshops and training, and debates.
  • A program designed to inspire. With a theme of Insight, Impact, Innovation, ASC2014 emphasises innovation in science communication stimulated by understanding our audiences, using visual communication and new media, and demonstrating the impact of our efforts.
  • A special Sunday with a hands-on community storytelling workshop (fully booked but waitlist available) and a public event ‘The Storytelling of Science: a triple anniversary celebration’ featuring Tim Flannery (Chair of the Climate Council), Lynne Malcolm (ABC Science), Jenny Graves (Australian Academy of Science Secretary for Education and Public Awareness)
  • A spectacular sci-art exhibition (called SPECTRUM), a SCINEMA screening, poster showcase and speed networking (Monday 3 February)
  • A first ever joint Science Communicators New Zealand and Australian Science Communicators breakfast event. Learn about the evolution of science communication in New Zealand and Australia with this panel featuring: Ian Lowe, Toss Gascoigne (Director at Toss Gascoigne & Associates), Jean Fleming (Professor of Science Communication and Associate Dean of Outreach at the University of Otago, New Zealand) and Jenni Metcalfe (Director of Econnect Communication)
  • The conference dinner featuring Robyn Williams (ABC Radio National’s The Science Show and Ockham’s Razor) presenting the Unsung Hero of Australian Science Communication Award (Tuesday 4 February)
  • The best networking you’ll find: cross-industry, cross-geography and cross-disciplinary.
  • A full stream of professional development including: web building, editing, animation, online strategy, commercial foundations, getting published, journalism and storytelling.

Leave a Reply