About ASC

The Australian Science Communicators is the peak body for science communicators and science journalists in Australia. Established in 1994, the Australian Science Communicators has grown to a national network of more than 1650 subscribers and 450 financial members working in science and technology communication, including science journalists and writers, public information officers for academic and research organisations, scientists, museum professionals, science educators, science film-makers, and many other diverse professions united by the common theme of making science accessible. We are a not-for-profit organisation.

We work towards achieving these through:

  • An active email list of more than 1500 members and non-members working across the breadth of science communication in Australia;
  • Social media forums for members to network, share information, and discuss issues relating to the communication of and about science and technology;
  • State branch activities and meetings bringing local members together for networking, professional development, social activities, and discussions;
  • An annual national conference featuring plenaries, workshops, networking opportunities and social events;
  • A monthly online newsletter Scope featuring the latest news from the organisation and the world of science communication;
  • A competitive grants program to support members in professional development;
  • An annual award honouring the Unsung Hero of Science Communication;
  • A website bringing together online resources about science communication, from around Australia and the world.’

Become a member

Who’s who | Our historyPast ASC PresidentsGovernanceContact us

Who’s Who

The Executive Committee

President: Dr Tom Carruthers (president *at* asc.asn.au)
Vice President, Policy: Shanii Phillips (vice.president *at* asc.asn.au)
Vice President, Treasurer: Jodie Haigh (treasurer *at* asc.asn.au)
Secretary, Membership: Dr Claire Chakrabarti (secretary *at* asc.asn.au)

National Council

National Council includes the above executive committee along with the following roles:
Co-Secretary, Events:
A/Prof Jen Martin
Co-Secretary, Events: Camille Thomson
Secretary, Awards: Tahnee Saunders
Co-Secretary, International Engagement: Preeti Castle
Co-Secretary, International Engagement: Lucy Zhou

General Members: Anna Quinn, Jacqueline Stephens, Jin-oh Choi, Shelley Wilson

Branch Representatives

Canberra Branch: Isabella Robinson
Perth Branch: Rockwell McGellin
South-East Queensland Branch: Melina Gillespie

National Projects and Portfolios

Editor Scope: Cedric Bauer (editor *at* asc.asn.au)

back to top


Our history

The idea for a national organisation uniting science communicators and science journalists was sparked by a request for a conference paper.
In 1993, former ASC president (2005-07) Jenni Metcalfe was on a study tour in the US when she was invited to present a paper at the third international meeting of the Network for the Public Communication of Science and Technology in Montreal, summarising science communication activities in Australia.

Working with Toss Gascoigne (ASC president 2003-04), the pair quickly came to realise that the science communication community in Australia was very spread out, and many people that they spoke to expressed their frustration at being so isolated.

The email was just appearing over the horizon; science communication was an emerging profession; and with the exception of CSIRO, science communicators had few opportunities to network and exchange views. The time was ripe for an organisation that could bring this disparate community together.

There was so much enthusiasm for the idea that 375 individuals across Australia agreed to donate $25 to get the new body underway. In addition, a number of organisations – the Australian Academy of Science, CSIRO, the Institute of Engineers, the Defence Science and Technology Organisation, and the Department of Industry, Science and Technology – contributed seed funding and on 26 September 1994, the first meeting of the Australian Science Communicators was held. The decision was made that the organisation should be open to anyone interested in science communication – not just professional science writers – and Julian Cribb was elected the inaugural President of the Australian Science Communicators.

Past ASC Presidents

Tom Carruthers (2023- )
Tom Carruthers & Jirana Craven (joint 2021-2023)
Lisa Bailey (2018-21)
Craig Cormick (2016-18)
Joan Leach (2014-16)
Claire Harris (Acting, 2013-14)
Rod Lamberts (2012-13)
Jesse Shore (2010-12)
Tim Thwaites (2007-09)
Jenni Metcalfe (2005-07)
David Ellyard (2004-05)
Toss Gascoigne (2003-04)
Wilson da Silva (2001-03)
Robyn Williams AM (1998-2001)
Ian Lowe AO (1997-98)
Alison Leigh (1996-97)
Ian Anderson (1995-96)
Julian Cribb (1993-94)

back to top

The Australian Science Communicators is a national incorporated association consisting of state branches and governed by a National Council and National Executive.

The state branches are each governed by elected councils consisting of a President, Secretary, and Treasurer.

The National Council – which meets four times a year – is made up of the President, Immediate Past President, and a representative of each state branch.

The Executive – which meets six times a year – is made up of the elected President, two Vice-Presidents nominated by the President, a Treasurer and a Secretary.

The Australian Science Communicators’ Annual General Meeting is held each year in November.

The Australian Science Communicators’ Constitution was first adopted in 2003. It has since been amended in 2006, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019 and 2020. ASC Constitution 2020.

Contact us
Australian Science Communicators
ABN 88 745 029 974

Suite 23011
1 Mowla Dr
Ashmore QLD 4214

All enquiries to: office@asc.asn.au (please note, the office is staffed on a part-time basis).

back to top

Leave a Reply