Events

ASC 2024 Conference

ASC 2024 Support, Connect, Grow will be held in Perth on June 17-20 2024.
At the 13th National Conference, the hope is for us to come together to support, connect, and grow our community. Sign up for updates.

Add a placeholder to your calendar
Apple   Google   Office 365   Outlook Web   Outlook   Yahoo

ASC2025 will likely be held in November on the East Coast. If you wish to bid to support hosting, please be in touch.

Event calendar

May

Pre-conference networking catch up
Where: Fathers Office, 249 Little Lonsdale Street (note there are 2 locations!)
When: Tuesday 28 May 2024;
Time: From 5:30pm

RSVP: via email to sarah@scienceinpublic.com.au so that she can give the pub appropriate numbers.

June

ASC Members pre conference catchup in person
Brisbane, Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth
TBC
Tuesday, 11 June 2024;
17:30pm AEST, ACST, AWST

ASC Members Networking Event onlinepre conference catchup
Hosted by Phil Dooley
Tuesday, 11 June 2024;
5:30pm AEST | 5:00pm ACST | 3:30am AWST

National Conference
Tuesday, 18 – 20 June 2024 (with pre-event on 17 June);

July

ASC Members post-conference catchup in person
Brisbane, Canberra, Sydney, Melbourne, Adelaide, Perth
TBC
Tuesday, 9 July 2024;
17:30pm AEST, ACST, AWST

ASC Members Networking Event online post-conference catchup
Hosted by Claire Harris (TBC)
Friday, 12 July 2024;
12:30pm AEST | 12:00pm ACST | 10:30am AWST

August

ASC Members Networking Event online post Science Week chat
Hosted by TBC (TBC)
Thursday, 20 August 2024;
6:30pm AEST | 6:00pm ACST | 4:30pm AWST

September

ASC Members Networking Event online
Hosted by Phil Dooley
Thursday, 12 September 2024;
12:30pm AEST | 12:00pm ACST | 10:30am AWST

October

ASC Members Networking Event online
Hosted by Claire Harris (TBC)
Tuesday, 15 October 2024;
12:30pm AEDT | 12:00pm ACDT | 11:30pm AEST | 11:00am ACST | 9:30am AWST

November

ASC Members Networking Event online
Hosted by TBC (TBC)
Wednesday, 13 November 2024;
5:30pm AEDT | 5:00pm ACDT | 4:30pm AEST | 4:00pm ACST | 2:30pm AWST

Careers night
Hosted by Jen Martin (TBC)

ASC AGM
(TBC)

The ASC Honours & Postgraduate SciComm Research Symposium
Online (TBC)

December

ASC Members Networking Event online (festive edition)
(TBC)

Past events

2024

ASC Members Networking Event online
Hosted by Phil Dooley
Tuesday, 14 May 2024;
12:30pm AEST | 12:00pm ACST | 10:30am AWST

ASC Members Networking Event online
Hosted by Claire Harris
Thursday, 18 April 2024;
5:30pm AEST | 5:00pm ACST | 3:30pm AWST

How to build your freelance career in science journalism (online w SJAA) session 1
[Members only]
Hosted by Bianca Nogrady (SJAA)
Thursday, 4 April 2024;
7:30pm AEDT | 7:00pm ACDT | 6:30pm AEST | 6:00pm ACST | 4:30pm AWST

How to build your freelance career in science journalism (online w SJAA) session 2
[Members only]
Hosted by Bianca Nogrady (SJAA)
Thursday, 11 April 2024;
7:30pm AEST | 7:00pm ACST | 5:30pm AWST


Science Meets Parliament – debrief
Hosted by Shanii Phillips, ASC Council Member, Vice President – Policy, with Jacqueline Stephens, Tahnee Saunders and Tom Carruthers.
Wednesday 27 March 1:00pm AEDT | 12:00pm AEST | 12:30pm ACDT | 10:00am AWST
Register here

Science meets Parliament
ASC Members in Canberra for the event
20-21 March 2024

Local catchup in Melbourne
Hosted by Sarah Brooker & Science in Public
At the Belgian Beer Cafe, 5 Riverside Quay
Southbank Victoria 3006
Tuesday, 12 March 2024, 5:30pm AEDT

ASC Members Networking Event online (register on Zoom)
Hosted by Phil Dooley
Thursday, 14 March 2024;
12:30pm AEDT | 12:00pm ACDT | 11:30pm AEST | 11:00am ACST | 9:30am AWST

2023

ASC Members Networking Event – End of year catch-up (Festive edition)
Tuesday, 12 December 2023;
5pm AEDT | 4:30pm ACDT | 4pm AEST | 3:30pm ACST | 2pm AWST

AGM
Wednesday, 29 November 2023;
5pm AEDT | 4:30pm ACDT | 4pm AEST | 3:30pm ACST | 2pm AWST

The ASC Honours & Postgraduate SciComm Research Symposium
Online
Tuesday, 21st November 2023;
5pm NZDT | 3pm AEDT | 2:30pm ACDT | 2pm AEST | 1:30pm ACST | 12pm AWST

ASC Members Networking Event
Thursday, 2nd November 2023;
12-1pm AEDT | 11-12pm AEST | 11:30-12:30pm ACDT | 10:30-11:30pm ACST | 9-10am AWST

Eureka Prizes with Prof Toby Walsh
Monday, 30th October 2023;
12:30-1:30pm AEDT | 12:00-1:00pm ACDT | 11:30am-12:30pm AEST | 11:00am-12:00pm ACST | 9:30-10:30am AWST

ASC Careers Night
Tuesday, 24th October 2023;
5-7pm AEDT | 4-6pm AEST | 4:30-6:30pm ACDT | 3:30-5:30pm ACST | 2-4pm AWST

Eureka Prizes with Jo Chandler
Monday, 23rd October 2023;
12:30-1:30pm AEDT | 12:00-1:00pm ACDT | 11:30am-12:30pm AEST | 11:00am-12:00pm ACST | 9:30-10:30am AWST

ASC Members Networking Event
Tuesday, 10th October 2023;
8-9pm AEDT | 7-8pm AEST | 7:30-8:30pm ACDT | 6:30-7:30pm ACST | 5-6pm AWST

Interview with CEO of ‘Code Like A Girl’
Friday, 8th September 2023;
1-2pm AEST | 12:30-1:30pm ACST | 11-12pm AWST

ASC Members Networking Event
Thursday, 7th September 2023;
10-11am AEST | 9:30-10:30am ACST | 8-9am AWST

“A damn good investment” – the power of long-term strategic sci comm
Public Webinar and Q&A with Distinguished Prof. Arnan Mitchell.
Wednesday, 30th August 2023;
5-6pm AEST | 4:30-5:30pm ACST | 3-4pm AWST

ASC Members Networking Event
Members only, online networking event hosted by Phil Dooley
Tuesday, 1st August 2023;
5:30-6:30pm AEST | 5-6pm ACST | 3:30-4:30pm AWST