The ASC honours & post-graduate research symposium

We are excited to present the program for the ASC Honours and Post-Graduate Research Symposium for 2023. This event is more than a showcase; it signifies our commitment to fostering confidence in our students and providing the community with a timely insight into contemporary research in Australia and Aotearoa, New Zealand.

We are also very excited […]

ASC Co-Presidents’ Message, Jirana Craven and Tom Carruthers

We’re in full swing preparing for the Perth 2024 conference. By the time of this newsletter, our abstract submissions will be open, super-early bird registrations will be available in the coming days, and we have already secured our first sponsor. It’s all very exciting.

A little sooner than June, we have a networking gathering, and the […]

Annual General Meeting 2023

The Australian Science Communicators Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held virtually on Zoom on Wednesday, 29 November 2023 at 5pm AEDT | 4:30pm ACDT | 4pm AEST | 3:30pm ACST | 2pm AWST.

Fill in the form

Please fill in this form (https://forms.gle/c1xXfH6vt8x98GReA) to:

register to attend the AGM or appoint a proxy to attend in your […]

Call for Abstracts: ASC2024 Conference

We’re thrilled to announce that the call for abstracts for the Australian Science Communicators Conference 2024 (ASC2024) is officially open! The main conference events will take place in Perth from 17th to 20th June 2024, with additional pre-conference and post-conference events scheduled for the 16th and 21st of June. This year’s theme is “Support, Connect, […]

Welcoming Our Executive Officers to the ASC

We are delighted to announce the appointment of two highly skilled Executive Officers (EOs) to the secretariat team. Emma and Kate bring with them a wealth of complementary experience, expertise, and a proven track record in the fields of science communication and outreach. Their diverse backgrounds and unique skills are already proving to be a […]

The Eureka’s with Toby Walsh

Recorded 30 October 2023

Due to technical connection issues, we have had to reschedule this event to 30 October.

Professor Toby Walsh is the 2023 winner of the Celestino Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding Science, and he joins the Australian Science Communicator’s co-President, Dr Tom Carruthers, in conversation about his win, his approach to explaining AI, and […]

2023 Careers Night

Hear from an array of people who might be able to answer the ‘What’s next?’ question that poses many of us. Featuring professionals across a range of careers and career stages, this event will address practical advice and tips for progressing your career.

This will be relevant for students looking to start their professional career in […]

The Eureka’s with Jo Chandler

Jo Chandler is the 2023 winner of the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Science Journalism, and she joins the Australian Science Communicator’s co-President, Dr Tom Carruthers, in conversation about her win, her award winning piece, science journalism, and everything else.

In her blog, she shares how excited and honoured she felt to be awarded the prize, […]

ASC Co-Presidents’ Message, Jirana Craven and Tom Carruthers

Welcome to another month of events. We’ve got our monthly member-only networking event and our national careers night. Also this month, Tom’s sneaking in two quick webinars with winners of this year’s Eureka Prizes.

In conference news, Jirana has just returned from a scouting trip in Perth and after many site visits, we have a healthy […]

The future website

The ASC website has been overdue some serious attention for some time. We’re currently over-capacity for server space, and our ability to host a breadth of resources or support updates to lists has been very limited.

In addition the member-management system currently doesn’t fulfil our organisation’s needs anymore. Billing for conferences or running online events isn’t […]