Best Australian Science Writing 2014

Thank you to Ashley Hay for letting us know all the details.
Submissions close March 31 – don’t miss out!
Submissions have been coming in for this year’s Best Australian Science Writing for the past couple of months now and there’s just over a month remaining for science communicators to submit their words for consideration. It’s a […]

ASC national conference – only weeks away #ASC14

The Australian Science Communicators National Conference 2014, 2-5 February, Brisbane is only weeks away. So get in quick to claim your spot to attend this premier networking event promising thrills, new skills and (gasp) entertainment! Register now. Continue reading

Space Dogs and Quantum Fields: Winners of AIP’s 2013 Science Communication Awards Announced

Authors Tom Siegfried and Jeffrey Bennett honoured in the AIP’s 2013 Science Communication Awards Continue reading

Five winners of the 2013 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

In the Great Hall of Parliament House, Prime Minister Abbott will present his Prizes for Science to five remarkable Australians. Continue reading

Bragg UNSW press prize for science writing 2013

The winner of The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing 2013 was announced by the Governor of New South Wales, Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir at a ceremony last night at Government House in Sydney.
Professor Fred Watson won the $7000 winner’s prize for his piece ‘Here come the ubernerds: Planets, Pluto and Prague’, from […]

Inspiring Australia update: Nominations Open for 2013 Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science

The 2012 awards event for the Prime Minister’s Prizes for Science was outstanding. A number of ASC members are involved with the Prizes and it would be good to hear their views on what the program means to them. Here’s the first announcement from Inspiring Australia about the 2013 prizes.

Inspiring Australia is pleased to announce […]

Unsung Hero of Australian Science Communication – Guy Nolch

The Australian Science Communicators are proud to announce that the winner of the Australian Science Communicators Unsung Hero Award of Science Communication for 2012 is Mr Guy Nolch, editor and publisher of Australasian Science
The judging panel selected Guy as the standout choice from a number of worthy nominees. The judges mentioned Guy’s many notable achievements […]

Unsung Hero Award of Australian Science Communication 2012

The Australian Science Communicators
is proud to offer the
Unsung Hero Award of Australian Science Communication
The Unsung Hero of Australian Science Communication is an initiative of the Australian Science Communicators. The ASC offers this award to honour a person or group who exemplify science communication.
Nominations are now open for the 2012 Unsung Hero Award of Australian Science […]

Australian astronomer shares in 2011 Nobel Prize for Physics

I’m pleased to add science communication plaudits to Australia’s latest Nobel Prize winner.
Dr Brian Schmidt, Laureate Fellow in the Research School of Astronomy and Astrophysics of the Australian National University, shares in this year’s Nobel Prize for Physics. He is being recognised along with US scientists, Saul Perlmutter and Adam G. Riess, by the Royal […]

Tall Poppy Awards – Judging now underway

The Science Excellence Awards is South Australia’s premier event to recognise and reward outstanding scientific endeavour, including its application in industry and the advancement of science and mathematics education.
New categories for Awards
This year’s Awards are being launched with an exciting new set of categories focussed on high achievers in the early stages of their careers, including […]