Your feedback on “Science and the Media” report

Dear ASCers

The “Expert working group on science and the media” set up by DIISR as part of their Inspiring Australia initiative has produced a draft summary report for discussion and feedback. You’ll find the draft report on the Inspiring Australia website Australia.aspx> including details about the composition of the working group and their terms of reference.

Your thoughts and ideas regarding the review and recommendations proposed in the draft are welcome – please send feedback directly to me by 21 January. A longer final report will be produced within the next two months.

As part of the review process we are also running a survey of science journalists working for mainstream media, which will be completed on 21 January. Please let me know if you are a working science (or environment, health, technology) reporter and have not heard about the survey. For those who have been science journalists but no longer work for mainstream media outlets, we are planning to design a specific survey for you. The aim of the surveys is to monitor trends in science reporting in Australia.

Best wishes


Dr Susannah Eliott

Chief Executive Officer

Australian Science Media Centre (AusSMC)

Street address: The Science Exchange, 55 Exchange Place, ADELAIDE SA 5000

Postal address: PO Box 237, RUNDLE MALL SA 5000

Ph: (08) 7120 8660 | Fax: (08) 8231 7333 |

The Australian Science Media Centre (AusSMC) is an independent, non-profit service for the news media, giving journalists direct access to evidence-based science and expertise. The national centre is advised by a Science Advisory Panel and governed by a Board of Management. It is supported by a wide variety of sectors with each contribution capped at 10% of total running costs. Foundation sponsors are the ABC, APN News & Media, CSIRO, Fairfax Media Ltd, the Govt of SA, Innovative Research Universities Australia, Media Monitors, News Ltd, New South Wales Govt, Orica Ltd, Queensland Govt, ResMed Inc, the Royal Institution of Australia, the State Govt of Victoria, Network Ten and the University of Melbourne. Gold Sponsors are the Australian Academy of Science, ATSE, Cisco Systems Inc., CSL Ltd, IBM Australia, Shell Australia Ltd and the University of Adelaide. Supporters include AMTA, Flinders University, Johnson Winter & Slattery, Microsoft Pty Ltd, O’Loughlins Lawyers and the Powerhouse Museum.

Disclaimer: Please note that any views expressed are the personal opinions of the experts named. They do not represent the views of the AusSMC or any other organisation unless specifically stated. The AusSMC attempts to provide a range of views from the scientific community. The AusSMC can help journalists find an expert on a topical area of science. For more details, contact us.

_______________________________________________ ASC-list mailing list

Leave a Reply