ASC President’s Message, Tom Carruthers

I pen this note a little late after having just returned from a whirlwind personal- and work-weeks that saw me in Adelaide, Canberra, Melbourne, Cairns and then last week, Perth, where I was able to spend some time with Heather Bray at UWA. I was also pleased to be able to fit in a catch […]

An important note from co-president, Jirana Craven

Dear ASC Members,

I am reaching out to share some personal news with implications for the ASC.

I have recently accepted a new position as Events and Projects Coordinator at the Science Teachers Association of Victoria. I am excited about the role as it combines my passion for science, science communication, and event coordination, and a great […]

ASC Co-Presidents’ Message, Jirana Craven and Tom Carruthers

Welcome to 2024. For those lucky to have had a break, we hope it was a restful, safe and rejuvenating one.

Looking forward, we’re both really excited for the year ahead. After our first national committee meeting last month, we are very optimistic about what we will be able to collaboratively achieve this year.

Something we are […]

Researchers behaving badly

This event is being hosted by our friends at the SJAA.

While we have confirmed that the live event is available for ASC members to attend, the recording of the event is likely to be limited to SJAA members only. We recommend registering and attending for the live event if this is of interest to you.

A […]

ASC Co-Presidents’ Message, Jirana Craven and Tom Carruthers

It’s the end of another year. Thank you to all the members for your engagement – we are very excited by what we achieved this year and to see what’s possible moving forward.

We know this SCOPE newsletter is a bit more detailed, so we’ve opted to keep our note brief, letting the below posts provide […]

ASC Student Symposium Presentations

For those who missed the recent student symposium and the insightful and varied talks, the recordings are now available for viewing here.

To see the full list of speakers and a summary of their presentations, please refer to the previous post.

ASC Annual General Meeting Summary

Our 2023 Annual General Meeting was held recently on 29th November. There was a fantastic turnout of engaged members and it was a timely opportunity to re-connect and to provide many important updates on ASC activities, successes, opportunities and financial position. 

Here is a summary of the key messages that were discussed, with more detail found […]

Welcome to our new ASC Council

A very warm welcome to our new Council as we head into 2024! These members were elected to Council at our recent AGM and have since chosen to fill a range of roles that support ASC’s strategic vision.

Please join us in welcoming the new team! Their diverse and rich experience will help to lead ASC […]

Reminder – 2023 AGM

TOMORROW:Wednesday, 29 November 2023 at 5pm AEDT | 4:30pm ACDT | 4pm AEST | 3:30pm ACST | 2pm AWST.

View the agenda, Presidents’ Report and Treasurer’s Report

Register to attend the AGM or appoint a proxy to attend in your place – registration and proxies can be submitted up to 1 hour prior to the start of […]

Annual General Meeting 2023: Agenda

The Australian Science Communicators Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held virtually on Zoom NEXT WEDNESDAY, 29 November 2023 at 5PM AEDT | 4PM AEST | 4:30PM ACDT | 3:30PM ACST | 2PM AWST.

The AGM agenda is included below. The President’s Report and the Treasurer’s Report will be made available early next week.

Please fill in this […]