Bragg UNSW press prize for science writing 2013

The winner of The Bragg UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing 2013 was announced by the Governor of New South Wales, Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir at a ceremony last night at Government House in Sydney.

Professor Fred Watson won the $7000 winner’s prize for his piece ‘Here come the ubernerds: Planets, Pluto and Prague’, from his book ‘Star-Craving Mad: Tales from a Travelling Astronomer’.

Runners-up prizes were awarded to UNSW’s Professor Chris Turney for ‘Martyrs to Gondwanaland: The cost of scientific exploration’ and Gina Perry for ‘Beyond the shock machine’.

In 2012, UNSW Press launched a new annual prize for the best short non-fiction piece on science written for a general audience. The Bragg UNSW Press Prize is named in honour of Australia’s first Nobel Laureates, William Henry Bragg and his son William Lawrence Bragg. The Braggs won the 1915 Nobel Prize for physics. The Bragg UNSW Press Prize is supported by the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund.

The winning entries are included in The Best Australian Science Writing 2013, published by NewSouth at UNSW.

For further information contact:

Matt Howard publicist

t 02 8936 0026 m 0400 221 815 e w

This entry was posted in Awards, Branch Notices, Mailing List, Media, People, Resource, Writing by Susan Kirk. Bookmark the permalink.

About Susan Kirk

Susan Kirk is a freelance science journalist, with a degree in journalism and qualifications in horticulture. She has written for many different publications but lately writes extensively for Fairfax media. She wrote a number of the Taste booklets (Global Food and Wine) which showcased Australian produce and producers and even did a stint as a restaurant critique. She loves growing, cooking and consuming food so over the years the interest in ornamental plants turned into an interest in food plants, especially herbs. She is a member of the Media Alliance, and is a member of and the Queensland web editor for the Australian Science Communicators.

Leave a Reply