Members Networking: A Festive Special

Tuesday, 12 December 2023;

5pm AEDT | 4:30pm ACDT | 4pm AEST | 3:30pm ACST | 2pm AWST

Join us for a magical members-only ASC End-of-Year Catch-up – a Christmas special networking event hosted by the wonderful Phil Dooley and Claire Harris

Revel in festive cheer as we bid farewell to 2023 and welcome the new year. Expect […]

Join our Council: a rewarding experience with manageable commitment

As our Annual General Meeting (AGM) gets closer, we’re looking to embark on a transformative journey in how our ASC Council operates. By shifting from the three legacy roles (President, Treasurer, Secretary) to a more tailored model, each member will be able to focus more practically on supporting a range of outputs aligned with our […]

The ASC honours & post-graduate research symposium

We are excited to present the program for the ASC Honours and Post-Graduate Research Symposium for 2023. This event is more than a showcase; it signifies our commitment to fostering confidence in our students and providing the community with a timely insight into contemporary research in Australia and Aotearoa, New Zealand.

We are also very excited […]

Member update: attending the 2023 PCST Venice Symposium

A/Prof Jen Martin, ASC national Vice President

At the end of September I had the great pleasure of attending the PCST Venice Symposium Science communication education and training: Challenges and strategies for research and academic institutions. Venice is a long way to go for a three-day symposium but having never come across an event before focused […]

The STA Leaders Dialogue

Tom Carruthers, Co-President

Yesterday afternoon, I had the pleasure of representing the ASC at the STA Leaders Dialogue held at the Google Offices in Darling Harbour, Sydney.

Had the opportunity to visit @google yesterday for the @ScienceAU Leadership Dialogue as the @auscicomm delegate. Lots of great discussion on policy wins and direction – and a great venue.Here’s […]

ASC Co-Presidents’ Message, Jirana Craven and Tom Carruthers

We’re in full swing preparing for the Perth 2024 conference. By the time of this newsletter, our abstract submissions will be open, super-early bird registrations will be available in the coming days, and we have already secured our first sponsor. It’s all very exciting.

A little sooner than June, we have a networking gathering, and the […]

Annual General Meeting 2023

The Australian Science Communicators Annual General Meeting (AGM) will be held virtually on Zoom on Wednesday, 29 November 2023 at 5pm AEDT | 4:30pm ACDT | 4pm AEST | 3:30pm ACST | 2pm AWST.

Fill in the form

Please fill in this form (https://forms.gle/c1xXfH6vt8x98GReA) to:

register to attend the AGM or appoint a proxy to attend in your […]

Call for Abstracts: ASC2024 Conference

We’re thrilled to announce that the call for abstracts for the Australian Science Communicators Conference 2024 (ASC2024) is officially open! The main conference events will take place in Perth from 17th to 20th June 2024, with additional pre-conference and post-conference events scheduled for the 16th and 21st of June. This year’s theme is “Support, Connect, […]

Welcoming Our Executive Officers to the ASC

We are delighted to announce the appointment of two highly skilled Executive Officers (EOs) to the secretariat team. Emma and Kate bring with them a wealth of complementary experience, expertise, and a proven track record in the fields of science communication and outreach. Their diverse backgrounds and unique skills are already proving to be a […]

The Eureka’s with Toby Walsh

Recorded 30 October 2023

Due to technical connection issues, we have had to reschedule this event to 30 October.

Professor Toby Walsh is the 2023 winner of the Celestino Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding Science, and he joins the Australian Science Communicator’s co-President, Dr Tom Carruthers, in conversation about his win, his approach to explaining AI, and […]