2023 Careers Night

Hear from an array of people who might be able to answer the ‘What’s next?’ question that poses many of us. Featuring professionals across a range of careers and career stages, this event will address practical advice and tips for progressing your career.

This will be relevant for students looking to start their professional career in […]

The Eureka’s with Jo Chandler

Jo Chandler is the 2023 winner of the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for Science Journalism, and she joins the Australian Science Communicator’s co-President, Dr Tom Carruthers, in conversation about her win, her award winning piece, science journalism, and everything else.

In her blog, she shares how excited and honoured she felt to be awarded the prize, […]

Long-term science communication is a ‘damn good investment’ – but how do you make it happen?

Distinguished Professor Arnan Mitchell is an accomplished researcher who – in the words of grant assessors – started out as being ‘unheard of’, to someone with an ‘international reputation’, now leading an Australian Research Council (ARC) Centre of Excellence, the highest amount of funding awarded by the ARC.

In a webinar in September 2023, Arnan […]

ASTEN 2023 and Canberran adventures

ASC Member and ASC Policy Assist, Shanii Phillips, recently attended the ASTEN 2023 conference in Canberra. The below is a recount of her experience.

Q: What’s better than one conference in a year?

A: One conference that you spend 12 months planning for, and a surprise conference that your workplace sends you with 4 weeks notice! ???? (Okay, […]

The ASC honours & post-graduate research symposium

21 November 2023 3pm AEDT | 2:30pm ACDT |5pm NZDT |2pm AEST | 1:30pm ACST | 12pm AWST

In the world of science communication research, it’s not often that students find a platform to present their findings, especially if they’re not pursuing a PhD. Building on the success of last year, we’re championing these budding […]

ASC Co-Presidents’ Message, Jirana Craven and Tom Carruthers

Welcome to another month of events. We’ve got our monthly member-only networking event and our national careers night. Also this month, Tom’s sneaking in two quick webinars with winners of this year’s Eureka Prizes.

In conference news, Jirana has just returned from a scouting trip in Perth and after many site visits, we have a healthy […]

The future website

The ASC website has been overdue some serious attention for some time. We’re currently over-capacity for server space, and our ability to host a breadth of resources or support updates to lists has been very limited.

In addition the member-management system currently doesn’t fulfil our organisation’s needs anymore. Billing for conferences or running online events isn’t […]

The June 2024 conference

Shared values and established relationships often hold more weight in decision-making and building trust than mere facts or truth. As humans, we inherently seek community. We are drawn to groups that affirm our perspectives, make us feel welcome, and dismiss notions we don’t like. The danger, however, is that we might find ourselves trapped in […]

The Eurkea Prizes

Two special conversation events are coming where ASC members and friends are able to hear from some of the awardees of the 2023 Eureka Prizes.

Eureka Prize with Jo Chandler

16 October 2023, 23 October 2023, 12:30 AEDT

Recording available here: http://www.asc.asn.au/blog/2023/10/25/the-eurekas-with-jo-chandler/

Note the change of date

Jo Chandler is the 2023 winner of the Australian Museum Eureka Prize for […]

Response to Australia’s draft National Science and Research Priorities

The revitalisation of Australia’s National Science and Research Priorities and National Science Statement will shape a long-term vision for the Australian science system. This process is intended to re-energise conversations across the Australian science and research sector. This process is being led by Australia’s Chief Scientist, Dr Cathy Foley.

In March, co-presidents Jirana Craven and Tom […]